Trailer

This is the latest progress of my trailer.

Stop the video after 1.30 mins. Technical problems have meant the video goes on for a lot longer.

This version of my trailer has been designed as my outline. I am pleased with the editing and the pace of the trailer. One of the main things I noticed when I was researching trailers was how important the pace was.  It is crucial for telling the story of the trailer.

I realise that the quality of my shots is not the best so that is what I will now go away and do now.  I have the idea of what I would like to shoot I jut need to improve my framing and lighting. They are the two main factors that let what I have done down so far. Once I have gone away and improved this then I ill just need to work on tweaking the fiddly bits.

I have shown many people this video and have received very positive feedback. One of my friends requested to see the film also so I joked that may have to be my next project.

I am happy with my progress so far.

I found most of my information from this site:

http://www.ehow.com/video_4872071_basic-conventions-film-trailers.html

The video is very useful but due to technical difficulties I cannot upload it straight to by blog so if the link doesn’t work then the manuscript is below.

“All right, folks, in this clip we’re going to talk about the basic conventions of a film trailer. A film trailer basically plays out something like this: You establish the movie in that you establish the location. Where does this film take place? What setting does it take place in? Does it take place on, like a sweeping plain somewhere? Does it take place in a small town or urban metropolis, a college campus, where does it take place? Then, immediately, you establish the characters. The principals of the story. Who are they? Why do we like them? The trick is to get the audience to either empathize or immediately think they’re funny or likable right off the bat. Now at this point you introduce the first major plot device. You know, the problem that the hero’s going to have to overcome. The funny situation that the two comic leads are going to have to battle through. The epic war that needs to be fought. The courtroom, you know, drama that’s about to play out. You basically get the story rolling at this point. You established where it takes place, who the characters are, now the story’s rolling. From here, you basically build in action and intensity and hilarity ’til this barrage of quickly paced clips crescendos into a final knock-out blow that you deliver right at the very end, which is the final line or final shot or final exchange between two characters, or whoever, that makes the audience really decide right then and there that they want to see it. It slowly builds from the beginning to the very end, and the very end should leave the audience thinking ‘Oh, yeah. That is a movie that I’m definitely going to see.’ They should be leaning over to their buddy saying ‘Oh yeah. I want to see that, for sure.’ Right as the finishing credits, or, you know, ‘Coming soon to a theater near you’ is playing on the screen. That is the basic conventions of a theatrical trailer.”

    • Mr Taylor
    • November 12th, 2010

    shorten the bar for your work area and render/export just the area you want as a movie to remedy the overrun problem.

    • Mr Taylor
    • November 12th, 2010

    The film logo itself isn’t sufficiently differentiated from the captions which precede it so it would be easy to miss the title of the film – which is the most important bit of information you are trying to get across

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

